Philippine Stock Exchange

The Philippine Stock Exchange also commonly known as the PSE is the main market for equities in the Philippines. It is the result of the merger of the Manila Stock Exchange and Makati Stock Exchange in 1992. The PSE maintains two trading floors, one at the Philippine Stock Exchange Center (Tektite Towers) in Ortigas Center, Pasig and the other at Philippine Stock Exchange Plaza (Tower One, Ayala Triangle) in Makati.

Formerly a non-stock member-governed entity it is now a shareholder-based organization. Overseen by the Philippine Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), the PSE has also been granted some self-regulatory powers.

The Philippine Stock Exchange Index or PSEi previously also known as the PSE Composite Index or PHISIX is the main stock market index of the Philippine Stock Exchange. Its composition is based on a fixed basket of the 30 companies with the largest full market capitalization traded on the bourse subject to certain other criteria. As a broad-based index comprising most of the major corporations in the country, the PSEi is often looked at as an indicator of the overall Philippine economy.

As of March 12, 2012 the PSEi's composition is as follows:

    Aboitiz Equity Ventures (PSE: AEV)
    Aboitiz Power Corporation (PSE: AP)
    Alliance Global Group Inc. (PSE: AGI)
    Ayala Corporation (PSE: AC)
    Ayala Land Inc. (PSE: ALI)
    Bank of the Philippine Islands (PSE: BPI)
    Banco de Oro Unibank Inc. (PSE: BDO)
    Belle Corporation (PSE: BEL)
    Cebu Air (PSE: CEB)
    DMCI Holdings Inc. (PSE: DMC)
    Energy Development Corporation (PSE: EDC)
    First Gen Corporation (PSE: FGEN)
    Globe Telecom Inc. (PSE: GLO)
    International Container Terminal Services Inc (PSE: ICT)
    JG Summit Holdings (PSE: JGS)
    Jollibee Foods Corporation (PSE: JFC)
    Manila Electric Company (PSE: MER)
    Manila Water Company (PSE: MWC)
    Megaworld Corporation (PSE: MEG)
    Metro Pacific Investments Corporation (PSE: MPI)
    Metropolitan Bank and Trust Company (PSE: MBT)
    Philex Mining Corporation (PSE: PX)
    Philippine Long Distance Telephone Company (PSE: TEL)
    Robinsons Land Corporation (PSE: RLC)
    San Miguel Corporation (PSE: SMC)
    Semirara Mining Corporation (PSE: SCC)
    SM Development Corporation (PSE: SMDC)
    SM Investments Corporation (PSE: SM)
    SM Prime Holdings (PSE: SMPH)
    Universal Robina Corporation (PSE: URC)